header uhlsport link
henley town fc

HENLEY TOWN NEWS henley on thames news

henley football club

Big Changes At Red Kites - 14 June

Henley Towns Annual General Meeting, held at the clubhouse on Monday 5 June was a well-attended and lively affair. Some major changes were made on the night, while others were then made public.

Kim Chapman, who did not seek re-election as chairman was elected as a life member. He was replaced as Chairman by John Hooper, a former Chairman at AFC Henley. Longstanding Secretary Tony Kingston who has been Club Secretary for 26 years, has often expressed a wish to stand down if a suitable replacement could be found, handed over the reins to Lawrence Tindell. Paul Trimmings will be Secretary of the Thames Valley League team and Ryan Brooks is the secretary of the Sunday team.

The Reserve team will be moving from the Uhlsport Hellenic League into the Thames Valley Premier League, while the Club has decided not to run Youth team in the coming season. Sections of meeting expressed a voice that the First team should also play in the Thames Valley Premier League but no decision was made and this will be decided by the new committee.

As emphasised in the Secretary’s report, the club had experienced an unsuccessful season both on and off the field. The First, Reserve and Youth sides had used a total of 10 different managers in all, so it was hardly surprising that the more stable Sunday team were the only one to gain honours.

Treasurer Geoff Biggs reported that a loss of almost £22,000 had been suffered on the season’s working, although much of this related to expenditure that will not need to be repeated, while any outstanding debts were in the process of being paid off.

Mick Keane was elected vice-chairman, and Geoff Biggs was re-elected as Treasurer. Fred Blackall remains as steward, which has now become a committee post. Also elected to the committee were Paul Trimmings, Craig Trimmings, Trevor Beales, John Wylie, Ron Crook, Kim Tindell, Lawrence Tindell and Paul Sykes. Tony Kingston will added to the committee and be Programme Editor if the Club remain in the Hellenic League

After the formal business of the meeting, two of the club’s trophies were awarded. Fred Blackall gained the Eric Bailey Memorial Cup for the person judged to have done most for the club in the past year, whilst Gary Aulsberry was the player’s player of the year by a vote of his team mates.

Previous Season News
Copyright © 2004 Hellenic Football League & Pat Horsman - All rights reserved . Web Policy - Free Sitemap Generator